Venting

As always, when nearing the end of completing an album the frustrations arise making it difficult to stay focused. Unlike artists who have backing all the work is pretty much left up to me. The only thing I didn’t do is all the production work on this album. I decided to recruit the help of three more producers to help me with this project.

Long story short I’m an independent artist and one of the producers wants me to delay putting the album out for the sake of making a mixtape to help promote. I personally do not care to make a mixtape because I take pride in my art and mixtapes to me have always been watered down product. Besides, so people don’t understand as an artist who writes you have to be inspired to make new music. My last bit of inspiration has been depleted due to this album. I’ve written everything that I have been dealing with for the past few years and places it on this project. I have nothing left to give pretty much.

Inspiration for me comes from living life and learning and you can’t rush that. I’m confident this is my best work to date and it can stand up there with the best. I couldn’t have done it without the help of the contributing producers and the push they gave me.

With that said, I refuse to believe that this body of work in itself is not good enough to stand alone without the help of a mediocre mixtape to appease an audience who otherwise would not listen to my music. I refuse to go back in the mode of recording when I know that it is unnecessary. I’m not fond of being called lazy when at the end of the day I worked my ass off writing, recording myself, mixing by myself, and formatting this album by myself. I’m not in the mood to push back a project for a little longer for the sake of making something that has nothing to do with the albums concept.

It’s funny but…..I’m not signed to a major or a minor but I’m still having to deal with the headaches of others ideas of how to successfully put this project out. For me it would be one of those issues of putting way more stress on myself while no one else has to put in that work…..I just can’t do it right now.

It’s time to release it….I’ve held up that process long enough already trying to put more songs on the album. None of which made it because they didn’t fit the concept. The original release date was scheduled for spring but due to the fact my folks wanted 14 to 16 tracks we went back to the drawing board. At the end of the day the same 12 cuts that originally were on the album are the only tracks that made it. The only other cut added was the intro.

All in all, this is the type shit that makes you not want to do music for the sake of putting it out. However, in my mind it’s a classic and it deserves to be heard by those who chose to listen in hopes of hearing a good hip hop album.

Well, that’s all. I don’t want to vent any further. The final basketball game of the season is coming on in a few minutes and I need to get my mind right to see what’s going to happen tonight.

No worries though, it’s coming because I’m done with it.

Stay up!!!!

Peace!!!!

Leave a Reply

