Back to Grinding

tascam-dp-008-98109

 

 

It’s definitely been a while since I last posted anything to my blog since I’ve been doing a great deal of soul searching.  I guess I have been more focused on doing things the way they should be done so that it all flows together smoothly.

With that being said, I’ve started to feel the urge to dive back into my music.  I had to take a break to feel fresh again.  I needed to rediscover the thing that made me feel alive for so many years.

That thing was being able to produce.  I believe I reached a peak in my creative space and really needed a new piece of gear that brought everything back to a point where I was highly motivated to do what I do.

While searching the web I discovered this little thing.  Tascam’s DP-008.   A very portable digital 8 track recorder with limited (but good enough) eq, compression, and reverb.  Most of which would only be used as a reference since I would do my final edits and mixes in software.

This little guy also has two small condenser mic’s built into it.  From what I’ve witnessed on line people have said the mics work pretty good.  The recorder also works with batteries so there really are some applications this recorder would excel in.

Long story short, with this portable unit I can easily collaborate with other artists when they can’t make it to me.  I’ll just take it to them plug them in and press record.  This is something technology has provided that I intend to take full advantage of.

The possibilities are endless.

Leave a Reply

